Seattle Day 1: My First Impressions

IMG_1439

After three great days in San Francisco, I was having a short night in another West Coast capital: in the impressive city of Seattle. Seattle had always been on my list of places to visit, especially after a friend told me that Germany reminded him a lot of the Northwest. Supposedly Seattle can be pretty rainy, gray, and dreary at times – just like my mountain town in Deutschland. Surprisingly, over the entire duration of my stay I did not see this side at all. Instead, in mid-September, it was gloriously warm, sunny and a pleasure to be at. I almost preferred this city over San Fran, because the public transport was not a big hassle to deal with. Overall, I found the city to be highly walkable and if I didn’t walk from one end of town to another, I took a bus (which wasn’t stuck in traffic 24/7).

Yummy Vietnamese Lunch in Belltown
Yummy Vietnamese Lunch in Belltown

Seattle welcomed me on a Saturday and I got to spend a little bit less than 24 hours here before it was off to Vancouver. My first impressions were perhaps one of the best: I stayed in a hostel in a great district called Belltown. After grabbing some delicious Vietnamese lunch close-by and acclimating to the area, I had a few hours left to explore. The pier was only a few short blocks away. I therefore decided to walk around it and discovered yet another funky Polaroid machine right there. Time to get my snap on!

IMG_2200edit

I pretty much walked the extensive distance from one end to another. Past the giant Ferris Wheel and other attractions. Since it was a weekend day, many families had come out here to spend some time at the amusement park and close to the water. I also came across the Public Market Center and its extensive items. I did not yet stop at the first Starbucks ever founded – that was reserved for the following week.

The pier
The pier

IMG_1377

Public Market
Public Market
Public Market
Public Market

However, I made the short walk over to the Space Needle and discovered that Star Wars must have been a thing on that day. I ended up following around a person clothed in a Star Wars costume, wondering if he worked here or what his deal was.

Star Wars?
Star Wars?
Space Needle
Space Needle

Since the Pier had attracted me, I decided to spend nightfall here and get some photography on. There was a pretty nice restaurant close-by and it seemed like a great way to chill out on a Saturday night. I will have to return here one day and figure out what the food menu is all about.

IMG_2206edit

IMG_2219edit

The restaurant
The restaurant

Overall, I enjoyed the vibes and people very much. Seattle certainly had a smaller town feel to it than San Fran. It was nonetheless quite hilly and I later found out that it was built upon seven hills. Of all cities I visited, my heart is certainly still lost somewhere amongst all of those winded little roads. The very next day I was set to take Amtrak up to Vancouver. After a 28-hour-stay here, I was to return to Seattle and explore more of its history. And plenty of history it had!

Leave a Reply

