Photo A Day: Decembeer 28 to the End

It’s a new year and the only remnant I am carrying over from 2012 is the photo challenge created by Liz from Be.Love.Live. Those last 4 pictures from December 28 to 31 are best to express how I must have felt during this past week. Liz has announced that she will not partake in any other challenges come 2013 and has not created another list for January. I myself have no desire to catch up with any other PhotoADay’s again, and therefore, will continue without a picture challenge this month.

[rolemodel]

dec28

What you see here are New Yorkers, some of which have become a true role model after living here for 2 and a half years. “Everyone trynna make it, everyone trynna shake it in a city this big!”

It always fascinates me how resilient New Yorkers are and how nothing can put them down. I wasn’t here during 9/11 but I witnessed how this city was turned upside down during hurricane Sandy. The chaos, the stress, the victims, and the lack of power – we made it through all of it and even more.
I once read a quote that it doesn’t matter if you dropped off the bus or I’ve you been here for years, you are a New Yorker from the moment you first set foot here.

I believe this is very true. You don’t necessarily have to earn your right to be a New Yorker but you do have to earn your weeks and days and hours to become someone people can look up to. I therefore cherish this picture and all the anonymous people in it for the inspiration they bring to me every day and the great memories they have created in the past.

[nature]

dec29

The day it snowed again. Or rather: Finally! I am beginning to fear that those pricy snow boots I bought two months ago will never be utilized when it comes to global warming affecting another New York winter. I am unsure whether or not this should make me sad or happy, for I still have the pictures in mind when we did have one snow day after another during the brutal time of 2010/2011.

However, on this particular day, it was snowing. It didn’t stick but it caused a blurry vision onto the streets of the East Village. The smoke rising from the middle of the road is from one of those multiple man holes that eject steam during pretty much any time of the year. It’s one of those “phenomena” that first make you stop if you are not used to it but then belongs to the city’s landscape like the array of skyscrapers do.

[memories]

dec30

The fond memories of a day spent at Fortt Tilden during late summer. I don’t think I will be returning this summer, as the area was completely devastated by Sandy. But I enjoy looking back at all I have accomplished last year and cannot wait to hit up the beach 5 months from now. The countdown is on!

[me]

dec31 - me

Self-portrait taken on New Year’s Eve. Ready to go to Manhattan and sit with friends having a get-together. It was nothing too fancy but nothing too boring either, just one of those evenings you need to say good-bye to a year and start another one. Lots of prosecco and home-made snacks. And a stunning view onto the disco-lit scene of the Empire State Building.

With this I am finally letting go of the old and welcoming 2013! I Hope you had a happy new year!

2 thoughts on “Photo A Day: Decembeer 28 to the End

  1. great pics! i am having some anxiety about not doing a photo challenge this month. 😉 actually i have no desire to do one that someone else has made. i guess i’m a bit of a photo challenge snob now. hehe. i’m dying to make one of my own. how bad would it be to start one late? or create one that was only once a week? it just feels empty…

    i’m so glad and honored that you participated in december!!

    hope you’ve had a wonderful holiday in nyc, though i am sure you missed your family some. happy new year, my friend!! xo

    • I don’t know Liz, it’s all up to you. It seems that people are more attracted to a daily challenge, albeit I found it quite challenging to come up with different motives each and every day.

      The key lies in consistency. Whatever you do, I am sure you’ll be doing it the right way! 🙂 I need a time-out from it, though. Pheeew!

      I missed my friends back home a lot, it was fun to party with them back in the days. This year I’ve only felt tired so far – well, 3 days are not that far in! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

