La Jolla: San Diego’s Precious Gem on a Rainy Day

img_5007

Mission and Pacific Beach were pretty nice by itself. But after seeing some pictures and hearing stories, I knew I had to check out La Jolla. So on my last day in San Diego I made the trip over to the coast again (altogether about an hour of a bus ride from the Gaslamp District). La Jolla is Spanish and translates into The Jewel. And it did indeed look like a precious diamond of sparkling water, madly rushing beneath me.

img_5405

La Jolla features great views but also the iconic seals, which you can see from pretty much anywhere.

On that particular day it was raining at La Jolla. Although I don’t know how it looks like bathed in sunshine, I appreciated the windiness of the ocean during that grey day. It was also nice to not have as many tourists as there must be on a normal, sunny day.

img_5412

img_4968

The seals started to come out and leap closer to the humans. However, one thing I didn’t find that great was how close some tourists came to them. Maybe giving these animals some space would have been better. To my surprise, I also saw some kayakers and divers, who were ascending into the water in a wetsuit.

img_4969

img_4983

img_5409

The coast is certainly the most beautiful part of La Jolla. Although I wandered around for a bit and came across some beautiful houses, too. The area is quite posh and residential, with a few stores, bakeries and coffee shops nearby. Other than that, there isn’t much to do it seems. But the view onto the water is certainly amazing.

img_4981

img_5008

img_5382

(On an unrelated note: I have two more blog posts until I am done with my 30-day-blogging challenge. I simply can’t wait. It’s been a nice ride but also strenuous and tiring and I haven’t seen myself do much else after work. I guess November was kind of the perfect month for it (cold/ rainy/ windy) but still – it’s been a challenge.)

4 thoughts on “La Jolla: San Diego’s Precious Gem on a Rainy Day

Leave a Reply

