My West Coast Trip 2016: San Diego, Portland, and Seattle

img_5726

Since it looks like I won’t be doing much more traveling this year (except for maybe the occasional daytrip somewhere nearby), I now have a few moments to catch up on all the travels that have happened so far. One of the trips of 2016 was a ten-day-excursion to the West Coast. I had the chance to visit three lovely cities, for about three days each.

Balboa Park
Balboa Park

San Diego in South California really impressed me. Of course – the weather was great (although by mid-September I was still very much in the summer groove). I only had half a day of rain while visiting, which I deem lucky at that time of year. Despite some people forewarning me, I actually spent all three days quite busy and fulfilled. What really impressed me the most was that I managed to get around to almost everywhere I wanted via means of public transport.

La Jolla in San Diego
La Jolla in San Diego

Portland in Oregon had been on my list of travel destinations for a very long time already. Pretty much ever since I visited the West Coast the last time in 2014. Well, two years later I made my dream come true and my friend Carley joined me until the end of the trip. We both stayed at a lovely (haunted) AirBnB in Southeast of Portland, not too far from Downtown. The highlight was not the city itself, but more so the nature surrounding it. After four days we had quite enough of Oregon and hopped onto Amtrak to…

Beautiful State Parks of Oregon
Beautiful State Parks of Oregon
Multnomah Falls
Multnomah Falls

Seattle in Washington! This was my second time visiting (my friend had never been before). Although three days seemed awfully short all of a sudden, we still crammed in quite a bit. A reunion with an old friend, whom I hadn’t seen in more than 8 years was also on the agenda. We had a great night out followed by a horrendous hangover. Luckily, Mount Rainier made it all good again and was perhaps the absolute highlight of my entire trip. Yes, visiting the state of Washington was a gem!

Public Market of Seattle
Public Market of Seattle
Mount Rainier
Mount Rainier

In the following days and weeks I will try to follow through on each city and write up what grabbed my attention, which places I liked the most and what my overall impression was.

img_5520

Even though there are still a few outstanding trips from before (Colombia! Mexico!), I figured that the only way I can really catch up is to start with the most recent piece of travel. So, West Coast 2016 – here we go.

2 thoughts on “My West Coast Trip 2016: San Diego, Portland, and Seattle

Leave a Reply

