Summer Lovin’ 2016: The End of Another Epic Season

Checking out Far Rockaway during Hurricane Hermine
Checking out Far Rockaway during Hurricane Hermine

It’s the first week of September and summer is slowly winding down. I don’t know what’s better – a crazy busy three months or some slow summer loving. This time of year really turned me upside down in 2016. It seems that every year I experience the hot months in a different way but it certainly reminded me of the summer of 2014 – where I didn’t get nearly as much done as I had planned. No time for blogging, barely time for photography. Just social responsibilities one after another. Being in a new relationship on top of this all – certainly a whirlwind of time.

Cuban Night in Williamsburg
Cuban Night in Williamsburg

I guess it all started with an epic trip to South America in June. Haven’t been able to catch up since. I have all of these wonderful posts lined up and I hope I will be able to get them out before my next trip, which is only in a few weeks’ time. That’s right – another trip. This time it is the West Coast again – and to a few cities I haven’t been able to see yet.

Upstate New York during Fourth of July
Upstate New York during Fourth of July

So what has this summer been about? Lots of eye-opening experiences. Pain, drama, love – you name it! Excursions to cool places upstate, a beach weekend in Fire Island, a few birthday celebrations. Frustrating housemate situations, new beginnings, and discovering what I want and what I don’t. It’s certainly been a roller coaster ride and I feel the waves are just now settling a bit. Every summer is obviously a lot about change and usually not too many things remain unchanged after. But this one has been particularly challenging in terms of people, time-management and discovering my purpose all over again.

Finishing up my Photo Project with B&H and exhibiting my work at Soho Photo
Finishing up my Photo Project with B&H and exhibiting my work at Soho Photo

And in between this all – I am still trying to catch my breath. To breathe in and to breathe out. For hopefully the busiest time will soon also pass. Coming home tonight from the last member’s night at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens made me feel how short this summer has been overall. While the warm air is still lingering in the air, I could spot the one or other tree already changing its color and a breeze of fall swept past my face. My goodness – how time just flies by here. I have no clue how.

Member's Night at the BK Botanical Garden - such an amazing time!
Member’s Night at the BK Botanical Garden – such an amazing time!

I just know one thing: I miss writing. Blogging. Posting things. Being in touch with other bloggers. I can’t ignore the creative urge that has been nagging me, pulling me to finally produce things instead of going to bed or relaxing.

Amazing sunsets seen from a rooftop
Amazing sunsets seen from a rooftop
Self Portrait Sessions outddors
Self Portrait Sessions outddors
Date Nights with the boy
Date Nights with the boy
Pennsylvania to see the fam
Pennsylvania to see the fam
Fire Island weekend getaway
Fire Island weekend getaway

So here it begins again.

Leave a Reply

