36 hours in Scotland: Edinburgh or Edin-brah? (Part 2)

(Read Part 1 here!)

IMG_1066e

Of course Edinburgh also has a bunch of harmless stories to tell. It is here where Harry Potter came into existence. That’s right – poor J.K. Rowling was settling in her relatives home and café when writing her first few books, too poor to afford much more. A friend of mine is taking the Hogwarts Express this summer and I can’t wait to hear more about her adventures on it.

IMG_1043

IMG_1049

IMG_1055

In commemoration of Harry Potter, we trudged to Greyfriars Kirkyard. A cemetery where we also heard about the story of Bobby the dog (and I couldn’t refrain myself from taking a picture once the tour was over). From here, you can see the George Heriot School, which was an inspiration for Hogwarts, although it probably does not resemble it much from the inside.

IMG_9918

Altogether, this tour was a great way to get to know more about Edinburgh, especially with the little time I had to spare in the city. The weather was really defending its reputation of being windy, rainy and quite icky throughout my entire stay. From soft rain drops in the morning up to full winds in the late afternoon – I now get it when people talk about dreary Scottish days. As I wanted to make my way up Arthur’s Seat, I cancelled my hike halfway up. I certainly am no one to give up things half-assedly like this but the winds out there were so strong that I was afraid to be carried over the valley (and who really needs remnants of a lousy tourist in the Scottish highlands?!). Indeed, I think from all the excited groups I saw, I must have been the only person who made it up this “far”, as many people didn’t even want to cross the valley anymore. The image of the flattened grass gives you a better overview of what I am talking about.

IMG_1059

IMG_1064

IMG_1070e

The last night was spent in a typical Scottish pub with a lovely bartender. Overall, I am pretty impressed by Scots and their friendliness. They have a pretty charming accent, too, spicing up my short stay.

I also got to try out long exposure photography. At night time and in the morning after the storm, it had gotten so windy that I literally had to hold down my tripod with my bare hands in order get a somewhat stable image.

IMG_1077e

IMG_1089e

IMG_1138e

So yes, after 36 hours in the charming but rainy city of Edinburgh, I kind of had enough. I was happy to hop on a train over to London to see a bigger city and to meet up with friends I hadn’t seen in a while. The train ride was around 4 1/2 hours long and it took me past some great scenery. Just staring out of the window and seeing the lush greens was worth it. If you ever get the chance, Id’ recommend Virgin Trains and the packages they sell (just buy them way in advance to get a steal!).

Bye Scotland!
Bye Scotland!

IMG_0005

Leave a Reply

