Beautiful Things I Saw Today: My Month of Gratitude (Week 4)

Easter Chicks
Easter Chicks

Writing this last post in a series of four seems harder than usual. Even though I know I could go on and on every single month for the duration of a year or two, it won’t happen. I will continue to count my gratitudes every single day but I don’t think posting this in blog-form every week will work for me. It does however show me that there truly are things happening at every moment in time for which we can be thankful.

Just the fact that we are alive and breathing is sometimes the world’s most astonishing miracle in itself.

During the past week, these were the moments I was especially grateful for (aside from being alive and in the right mindset):

Wednesday, March 23: Spring-like weather, 20C (70F) and being able to take in the warm air.

Meeting Shannon Wild
Meeting Shannon Wild

Thursday, March 24: I can’t decide if this was the highlight of my entire week or perhaps even month. Either way, it was an amazing day since I got to meet Shannon Wild. Shannon is a wildlife photographer based out of South Africa and I started following her on Instagram a while back (together with 80k other people). My friend Wendy is part of the awesome Wild Tomorrow Fund and was able to work with Shannon back in January already. This time she actually came to New York as a stopover on her way to the West Coast and we got to hang out with her and eat some proper Thai food. Shannon is the most down-to-earth person I’ve ever met and a very inspiring personality. Check out her stuff on her web site and follow her!

Friday, March 25: A rather quiet day at the office and also at home. I guess I needed a relaxing Friday eve and that’s exactly what I got.

Saturday, March 26: Yoga at noon, editing some of my pictures, throwing on a face mask and just taking it easy. My kind of weekend.

Easter face
Easter face

Sunday, March 27: Easter Sunday, which is a big deal in Germany but I guess not necessarily over here. I still went to Easter Brunch to get in the spirit. Afterwards I walked through Fort Greene Park and admired the blooms that are now fully out. I also got these two chicks and took some silly pictures with them.

Monday, March 28: So Wendy and John from Wild Tomorrow Fund simply rock as they’ve been putting on one great event after another. I already got to photograph their launch party back in September and unfortunately missed out on their fund raising in Brooklyn back in February. But luckily they hosted another one at the SoHo Soul Cycle, which meant cycling for wildlife. And what a great show it was! Another wildlife star called Shannon Elizabeth showed up and demonstrated her support. It was a fun-filled eve with a sweaty hour of bike exercise and meeting lots of inspiring people.

Cycling for Wildlife
Cycling for Wildlife

Tuesday, March 29: Another highlight as I finally got to see the inside of the Barclays Center. That’s right – after living in its close proximity for almost four years, I now had a reason to walk inside. My friend from North Carolina had tickets for the Hurricanes playing the Islanders (hockey) and we were able to see the game from three different angles. Our original spots were kind of above and in the corner so during the last third we snuck downstairs and found two spots in right in front of the players. Yup, only a mere glass wall separated us from Clutterbuck and other athletes. It was certainly a fun time and I’d see another game here anytime.

Hockey games
Hockey games

Wednesday March 30: The very last day of the B&H Porfolio Development. I never got to tell you what it was about after all, but I’m planning on filling you in soon. I had been a part of this program for the past six months and we were prompted to create a photo story in order to push us past our creative and photographic limits.

Also, I was thankful for meeting someone and having the feeling of seeing an old friend. It is true what they say – the veil to truth is dropping faster and faster as the days fly by. Awakening and looking around, I can tell that many people in my life have been old friends for perhaps a longer time than imagined (and during a different life, too). I guess this date was a bold reminder as to how the pieces are falling together.

Thursday, March 31: The last day of March. An early day off work and having lunch at Calexico in Greenpoint. Hadn’t been here in so long (was it almost a year?) that I totally forgot how amazing their nachos taste. And also how much they fill me up. In addition, I walked through Prospect Park and admired the magnolias, which are now completely in full bloom.

Calexico Nachos
Calexico Nachos

We’ve arrived at the last day of March. It’s been a truly inspiring month and it certainly showed me how fast and slow time can fly by when you are busy and when you are grateful. What I get out of this entire 4-week-exercise is that the small things count. Despite seeking out the “big” things in life, it’s really all about the details. How you experience a day can change in a matter of seconds, depending on mood, attitude, and willingness to adjust perspective.

Every time a negative thought crossed my mind, something so mind-blowing happened that I didn’t have the time to focus on any negativity thereafter. What better signs could I wish for from the universe? I was prompted to forget the bad and let the good in. Only the good.

The universe is also showing me with more intensity that some people are meant to be in my life and others are not (at least not anymore). March has finally brought me some relief in sense of dealing with pain I’d been carrying around with me for a very long time. Some related to past relationships and friendships, most of course related to inner self-reflection and the path to finding true self-healing.

It’s been quite a whirlwind of experiences but sometimes the chaos can be a welcoming opportunity to finally change outlooks on things and dig into a deeper sense of life. I hope that you too find things to be grateful for every single day!

How about being grateful for brunch?
How about being grateful for brunch?
Leave a Reply

