Diverse Europe: How Three Weeks Fly By

Big Ben by night
Big Ben by night

Exploring Europe for three weeks straight was certainly one of a kind. It all started with an epic trip to Iceland. From snowy days over adventurous excursions to just hanging out in Reykjavik – I know that even just starting to describe how it all felt will be an almost impossible task to solve.

One of Iceland's amazing waterfalls
One of Iceland’s amazing waterfalls
Hiking a glacier
Hiking a glacier
In a 2000-year-old ice cave
In a 2000-year-old ice cave

And although I thought Iceland would be the best part of my trip for certain, it wasn’t. Maybe it beats Germany in scenery, nature and wonders. Perhaps sinking knee-deep into snow is also more exciting than driving on the Autobahn. But despite all of these bribes, being home was the best part by far. I guess nothing beats celebrating a few Dirty Thirty birthdays together with friends whom I’ve known for 13+ years. Spending quality time with people who sincerely care for my well-being made me aware of the treasure I have so far away from the Big Apple (and will hopefully continue to have for a while).

In the forest surrounding my parent's house in rural Germany
In the forest surrounding my parent’s house in rural Germany

And let’s not forget about beautiful Scotland, which has so much history and myths to offer, I really don’t know where to start here. Crappy weather most of the time but that must be part of a proper Scottish adventure. Oh, and London, the city that already stole my heart in 2011. Coming back here this year was great. Winters are so much milder there than here in New York, so walking around outside was actually enjoyable.

Scottish views onto Edinburgh
Scottish views onto Edinburgh
Scottish mirror twist in the middle of the street
Scottish mirror twist in the middle of the street
London Tower Bridge
London Tower Bridge
Typical red phone booths - how could I have resisted?!
Typical red phone booths – how could I have resisted?!

Altogether, the February trip was certainly a proper winter travel involving lots of snow, ice, wind and rain. But it also proved that traveling during one of the toughest months of the year is totally feasible. It spurred my interest in exploring more snow, ice, rain and wind. And in seeing more countries than before.

London Red-Eye.
London Red-Eye.
Leave a Reply

