Ending One Season and Starting Another: August 31st, You Have Come Way Too Fast

IMG_7067

It’s the last day of August. I haven’t blogged all month so I thought getting in this last post before summer comes to an end would be appropriate. The last day of August is always bittersweet. For most it usually means fall is coming. Sometimes I feel that we should have another celebration right here and then, similar to New Year’s Eve. The last day of August can be quite melancholic when I look at how it usually meant trudging back to school or starting a new chapter in college. Now it just means that there are only a few more weeks of beach days left until it will be too cool to lie in the 90 degree heat and work on a great tan.

Blues and BBQ Fest
Blues and BBQ Fest

New York summers are always awesome. I don’t like to complain about the heat because the winter will be indefinitely cold. Always. And it usually never gets this hot in Germany, which is where I still base most of my summer memories off of. Wearing a jacket at night when going out or enduring rainy days which spoil most plans involving a BBQ or lake or day at the pool – no I don’t miss German summers right now. I do know I will miss this New York summer. All of the events going on and only being able to do less than a quarter of them all – sometimes life is just not fair. Fall sneaks up to end one chapter and start another. I usually don’t realize it until I am halfway through fall.

Hierve el Agua
Hierve el Agua

This past August has been a great one. I got to spend two amazing weeks in one of the most hospitable and warmest countries people-wise: Mexico. Where pieces of my heart still lie, somewhere in between Hierve el Agua and the mountain side of Oaxaca. Then it was off to Chicago for five days to witness yet another family wedding. Illinois and Wisconsin – I got to see them both!

Chicago Bean
Chicago Bean

A job change in between brought with a well-desired change in lifestyle. It’s been a good summer, I’d say. Short this time around. The more I want to plan, the less I get done. As always, my thought returns to: It’s best to just live in the moment and enjoy things as they come.

I don’t know what exactly it is that makes me feel uneasy and sad about this date. I’ve had heartbroken and lost August 31sts… I’ve also had happy August 31sts, when I was returning back home on a jet plane. Today is ending on era and starting another. Every single year. While June 30th and July 31st still carry so much hope for yet so much more to do and so much more time to do it… Today somehow does not.

Brooklyn Summers
Brooklyn Summers
Coney Island summers
Coney Island summers

Maybe I am just seeing more in the date as is. But the last day of August also leaves me waiting towards what is yet to come. Such as ending the last 4 months of the year well. And yet, there is still this tiny piece of hope that we will have yet another month of fun, a few more weeks of great outdoors and drinking under the summer sun. Which usually we do. Seriously, it’s more awesome than turning on the heat at the end of September in a certain other country I grew up in. So September 1st – I think I am almost ready… I guess I have to be.

Yoga in the park summers
Yoga in the park summers

Does anyone else feel uneasy about August 31sts?

4 thoughts on “Ending One Season and Starting Another: August 31st, You Have Come Way Too Fast

  1. Hi!!! August 31st is my Birthday, so yes, I do feel uneasy :))) I understand what you mean under “bittersweet”. But I like September. Everything returns back to normal, and you can still feel summer energy inside

    • I know it’s your birthday! I hope you had a fun day, chica! Yes, bittersweet indeed but here in NY it stays warm for a little while longer so I m still experiencing this great Indian summer. But you are right – things return to normal, even for me. I also like fall a lot but am not too much a fan of winter. Well, you have to take what you get. I hope all is well. Abandoned the blogging world for good?

Leave a Reply

