Completing the 30 Day Blogging Challenge: The Overall Impression

Completing the Challenge!
Completing the Challenge!

About four days ago I completed the 30-Day-Blogging-Challenge hosted by Sarkemedia. While it was my second round of the challenge, it was also my first full round of completion (as I gave up the first try after 21 days due to travels and time limits).

So here I am, done with my very first blogging challenge! I swell in the heat of yet another New York Summer and still feel quite accomplished. Despite having worked full-time, having organized some photo shoots for the photography business and having found time for social life in the past 6 weeks, I was still able to blog. What a success!
The questions and answers below pretty much summarize my overall experience.

How does it feel to have accomplished 30 Days of Blogging within an allotted time frame?

It feels pretty darn good! I didn’t manage to blog on 30 consecutive days, but overall it took me about 1 1/2 months to complete the turnaround. Since March (since starting the first trial round), I’ve managed to post 52 blogs on all things pertaining my current life, travel adventures, and events in New York. That is more than I’ve managed to write in entire 2014 (when I hit the glorious number of 18 posts) and the second half of 2013. So even though it took me a bit longer to complete the challenge, I’d say I am back into a writing flow. More than I was in the past 2 years. And that makes me feel quite accomplished indeed.

How much time did you spend on the posts?

The thing about blogging is that you can pretty much spend as much time as you like. True, some posts are harder to compose than others. But the quality of your work will depend on how much time and effort you put into it. While sometimes I only had 30 minutes of time a day, other times I spent almost 2 hours on one single post (not including pictures or links). However, the more you do it, the more you get into a writing flow, which is what I’ve noticed back in 2011 already. It actually became less of a hassle the more commitment I showed. I was also able to notice what times of day are better for me. Usually early mornings or late nights provide for an undisturbed atmosphere at home.

girl-writing-on-notepad-and-pen
What new ideas/ thoughts/ skills did you take away from blogging extensively?

First of, I was able to finally update my blog design. I hadn’t been able to do so over the past 4 years or perhaps procrastination kept pushing it off. Secondly, I took a few classes here and there and was able to apply basic graphic design skills to the development of my new photographer’s logo. In the future, I am hoping to come up with a new logo for German-American Abroad in combination to setting up a Facebook Fanpage.

Thirdly, blogging almost every day did not deplete my repertoire or avoided me from coming up with new ideas. On the contrary, it instilled even further ideas into my already overwhelmed schedule. I have yet to blog about my West Coast Trip and my trip to Toronto last year. Of course there are other trips in the making so eventually I will share my plans and ideas on those soon. But of course with summer having arrived in the bustling city of New York, there are always new events to attend and cool things to do. I therefore feel that my repertoire of blogging will never be fully depleted, no matter how much I do it.

What was one of the greatest achievements of the blogging challenge?

Other than blogging almost every day, I was able to catch up with my entire trip to Puerto Rico in less than a week after it happened. This has actually never happened to date, not even when I was really motivated back in 2011 and 2012. During my first round, I was able to whip up some great and thoughtful posts. One of them highlights today’s issue on cell phone addiction, which I still consider one of my best posts to this date.
Last but not least, I consider myself having learnt some valuable lessons along the way. One of them being and dealing with the issue of feeling rushed. When I feel rushed, I am almost unable to accomplish major tasks, such as thoughtful writing or photographic editing. I appreciate peace and quiet more when it comes to expressing my thoughts. Patience has also been a valuable lesson when it comes to blogging and writing overall. The best posts are written when doing research and being patient about the information received. I can’t expect to whip out a high-class post within minutes when I want to include a multitude of other information.

What else?

I really loved that I was able to re-connect with some previous blogging friends, communicate with some friends from real life, and get to make new friends while completing this entire challenge. The Facebook Support Group of this challenge has been quite grand in liking and commenting on my posts. I feel I’ve been able to dip into a variety of other blogger’s world just by being part of this group.
I’d highly recommend joining this group when completing the challenge.

The 30 Day Blogging Challenge by Sarkemedia
The 30 Day Blogging Challenge by Sarkemedia
6 thoughts on “Completing the 30 Day Blogging Challenge: The Overall Impression

Leave a Reply

