Homecoming: My Trip to Europe in Spring 2015

Geysir erupting in Iceland
Geysir erupting in Iceland

At the end of last month I ventured out on a 2-week-journey back home. It had been two long years since I had set foot on German soil and I desperately felt I needed to go back to see everyone and everything again. It always seems that I look to get away in spring (as airfare tends to be cheapest around this time). Spring can be an odd time to travel, especially when you are trying to pack for three different climates and are unsure about weather predictions. If I had known better, I probably would have tossed all t-shirts and skirts but of course you are always smarter in hindsight.

The fairy tale village I am from
The fairy tale village I am from

First climate zone: Deutschland! Here I got to spend roughly a week in the rural area where I grew up. I hiked with my parents, met up with high school friends, got the cheapest highlights ever, and got lost explored parts of small town Luxembourg.

Reading in Heidelberg
Reading in Heidelberg

Then I spent a few days in medieval Heidelberg, which is the city I had studied in. Heidelberg will always carry a special meaning to me. Not only because I met most of my study buddies here and had some great nights out. It’s quite a charming city and as the saying goes you can absolutely “lose your heart” in it.

Leaning in Pisa
Leaning in Pisa

Second climate zone: Bella Italia! I was stoked to travel to 3 cities in Italy for 3 days. Yes, I know – waaay too short! After landing in Pisa and making sure that its Leaning Tower is indeed “leaning”, I hopped on a train to Firenze (or: Florence). Here I spent a charming afternoon, night, and morning until it was off to Rome for 2 days. I was lucky to have stayed close to the ancient Coliseum (as I was just a 10 minute walk away, how awesome does it get!) and explored the majorly important parts of town. A sunset close to the Spanish Fountain – almost nothing tops that.

Roman sunset
Roman sunset

After a short derail back home, I set off to spend 2 ½ days in a rather frosty climate: Iceland. This last leg of the trip also proved to be the most interesting and connecting in terms of nature, beauty, and landscape. If you’ve ever been, you know exactly what I am talking about. It was in Iceland where I got to ride on a pony for the first time in almost 20 years again and see the most stunning waterfall on earth.

Ponyriding in Iceland
Ponyriding in Iceland

I can’t wait to highlight each area on its own in the next few posts! Stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “Homecoming: My Trip to Europe in Spring 2015

Leave a Reply

