Traveling the West Coast: San Francisco, Seattle and Vancouver

Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge

In September of 2014 I had the chance to travel to three amazing cities out west. In 9 short days I explored San Francisco, Seattle and Vancouver.

For 3 days I trekked around the tourist sites of San Francisco. Among riding the cable car five times (!), I also saw how fortune cookies are made. I had amazing tacos in the Mission District. I saw Alcatraz from afar (since you have to buy tickets in advance and lucky me didn’t know better). I had a love-hate relationship with the Golden Gate Bridge because photographing that beast was certainly one of the most challenging tasks of that entire trip.

Making fortune cookies in Chinatown
Making fortune cookies in Chinatown

In Seattle, I started off with some great Vietnamese food. While slurping away some Pho, a friendly local couldn’t help it but ask where I was from (I must have been the only person with a suitcase in that restaurant). During my 3-day-stay it didn’t rain once. Only when I was walking away from my hostel to the airport, which was quite amazing. I explored the peaceful island of Bainbridge and almost cried in front of the receptionist when I didn’t have time to see their art exhibit.

Seattle skyline
Seattle skyline

I got to take Amtrak past the wilderness up to Canada. I’ve experienced one of the friendliest people on Earth in the quaint city of Vancouver. And spending 24 hours in town was short and sweet but perfectly doable. I even got a haircut from a local hair school. And of course the sea food – just the right city to be in for that! Don’t get me started on their blue hour – it lasted for hours.

Amazing sunset in Vancouver
Amazing sunset in Vancouver

Overall, my trip in September was a full success. I can’t wait to share the impressions I’ve collected in each city individually. Everywhere I went – I was surrounded by water, harbors, sea life and boats. What will always stay in mind is the eternal friendliness of people. The West Coast – oh so different than the rough East of the US!

2 thoughts on “Traveling the West Coast: San Francisco, Seattle and Vancouver

Leave a Reply

