Central Park: A Love Note to Its Changing Seasons

Central Park in September 2014
Central Park in September 2014

Today I spent my time in Central Park. It’s been the first real week of spring-like weather. While planning my day off, nature, trees, and calmness seemed like the right way to go about. Central Park has started to carry a special meaning to me ever since taking the Philosophy Course (which I will talk about) last year. From late September through early December 2014 I was Upper-East-Side bound. Since the class was half a block away from Central Park, my decision on how to walk home was easy to make. So for 10 weeks straight I strolled through the park every Wednesday when making my way from uptown to the N-train on 57th Street.

I remember how the leaves began to change in early October. Summer said its goodbyes. Fall entered in its entirety. Colorful trees winked at me. Red and yellow leaves were waiting to be picked up and tossed in the air. I once laid inside it all and pretended to be a fall-princess.

IMG_2018

Fall 2014
Fall 2014
Wet leaves after a rainfall
Wet leaves after a rainfall

I used to stroll right through Central Park Zoo, without even knowing that I was able to watch the feeding of the seals if I got there at a certain time. I observed it from the outside, as the small fence did not obstruct my view.

We had a glorious fall last year. Not too cold, no snow at all. Winter came late. By the end of November, almost all leaves had fallen to the ground. The trees were wiped blank. I took these pictures to reminiscence the moment of change.

Central Park in fall
Central Park in fall
Central Park in winter
Central Park in winter

Today was perhaps the first time in two months since I set foot in Central Park again. I walked from Columbus Circle across it to the other side on 5th Ave. The sun was shining temptatively. I was able to bathe in its rays and forget about the cold wind for a few moments. Lots of tourists climbed the rock I was sitting on and took selfies. Other locals spent their time in solace, like I did. A small child found it amusing to climb the tall rock on one side and slide down on the other. Oh children, how simple their lives are!

Me in Central Park today
Me in Central Park today

I then wanted to replicate the previous fall and winter images I had taken every Wednesday at the end of 2014. I went to the Central Park Pond. There was still ice on it, together with the remnants of last week’s snowfall. Footprints had trekked through the white beauty, making me wonder if I too would be able to walk on the pond. I didn’t dare try it out. Instead, I climbed another huge rock and took a picture of it.
I also captured the thawing of winter and the beginning of spring, which had started to show around this beautiful bridge.

Central Park today
Central Park today
Central Park today
Central Park today
Central Park today
Central Park today

I live in Brooklyn and have become quite addicted to Prospect Park. But Central Park has a different magic, an entirely different vibe. There is something very special about the fact that it lies in the middle of a bustling Manhattan and can provide an oasis of severe peace. I have to remind myself to come here more often. Soon it will be cherry blossom season. One of my most favorite and cherished parts about spring!

3 thoughts on “Central Park: A Love Note to Its Changing Seasons

Leave a Reply

