Hello 2014 – Here Is My year 2013 in Review

So, for the third time in row, the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 11,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 4 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

I don’t know if 11,000 is a ton of people for one year or not. It roughly translates to 30 clicks a day, which seems to have been a steady stream in the past, as I’ve noticed before.

I know I have been quite horrible with blogging this year. Especially in the second half. I guess my motivation has been dwindling. I’ve also been crazy busy in the past three months with juggling photography and work life (somehow this has become the main issue the more and more gigs I’ve been pulling aboard). But mostly I haven’t felt a real drive to write. I miss writing, don’t get me wrong. Almost every day I still look at my stats and am amazed that people are clicking through posts I’ve come up with years ago.

Such as some of my all-time-highs:

1) Procrastination- The Fear of Failure from Nov 2012

2) What I learned after a Week of Deleting Facebook from July 2012

3) Quarter Life Crisis: “Young, Insecure, and Afraid” from January 2013

4) Germany – The Diversity of this Country is Highly Underestimated from April 2012

5) On Growing up Bilingually, Biculturally, and Bi-Nationally from June 2013

But due to the self-proclaimed fear of failure I’ve also felt increasingly less and less in the mood to share more of my personal life and New York occurrences on this site. Perhaps sometimes I just didn’t have a lot to talk about. Or maybe not felt the need to talk about it. Yeah, you’re right – I’m sure there is always something to talk about.

And now another month has passed without any blogging activity at all. Year 2014, here is a toast. To more writing. Or more writing-when-I-feel-in-the-mood. It would be a pity to shut this babe down.

So, while currently sick and hungover, I am blogging my very first post for 2014. January 1 – I have not seen much of the outside world yet. But it’s been a crazy night and a pretty decent start into one of the most adventurous years of my future. The journey here in the US continues and the all-time-question: Shall I stay or shall I go?

How did you celebrate NYE and New Year’s Day? Let’s hear from those almost 300 followers!

8 thoughts on “Hello 2014 – Here Is My year 2013 in Review

  1. I didn’t get one of those year-end reports this time. Bummer. I’m always impressed when I disappear for awhile and still keep a fairly steady stream of people. Fortunately I’ve been able to get back to blogging more lately, but since school starts again in about 10 days I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep doing that.

    I celebrated NYE with friends eating awesome Mexican food cooked by one of them, drinking, and playing a card game. I celebrated New Year’s Day by sleeping in, ordering pizza (literally the only thing that sounded appealing to me today and it was great), having a nap, and then working on blogging and HitRECord stuff.

    • You didn’t get a report? I got mine like almost 2 days before the year actually ended… lol Maybe it went to your spam folder? I actually like looking at the end-of-year-stats and what they compare them with (I mean, opera house, seriously?!).

      I saw your pizza post on FB the other day. Your HitRECord stuff is nice, too!

  2. Happy New Year to you! I can relate to how you feel about blogging. During the past year I’ve had several periods of silence on my blog because I didn’t feel like writing or was busy with other things. And I think that’s ok. It would probably influence your writing if you forced yourself to do so. However, I’m wishing you lots of inspiration for writing in 2014 because I love reading your blog. 🙂

    • Thank you Nikki! Good to feel that I am not the only one! Yes, writing when I feel like it might be the most productive way to go! Aw, and thanks for still checking into my blog.

  3. I can relate! I love to write & share, but sometimes time, effort, inability all stop me… But I do love the blogging world, so always here!

    • Holly, your posts are very sporadic. But so sweet and short and absolutely lovable to read. Let’s not give up on our shared love for the blogging world, shall we??! I believe you have a ton of great news to share in the coming months, too! 😉

  4. Yes, blogging is time consuming, isn’t it. But it’s also a nice outlet for photographers and to stay in touch with a larger community. I think 11,000 visits is great. Congratulations. And then I wish you a great 2014 – and hope to see more of your photographs.

  5. I want an end of year report 😦 It’s tricky trying to think of interesting things to write, but do stick at it!
    P.S I was drinking by the river thames watching the fireworks in london on nye 🙂

Leave a Reply

