300 Posts: A Blogger’s Journey Towards It

300posts

Today marks the day I never saw coming when I started my personal blog 2 and a half years ago. Today I am proudly submitting my 300th blog post to all of you fellow bloggers, readers, and followers.

Whew! So what does it mean to have 300 posts? It means that mathematically I submitted a post every day for 10 continuous months – if I had actually sat here with due diligence and had the ideas for 10 continuous months. It also means that three happens to be my lucky number and two zeros behind it make it look even more fabulous.

Out of all the things the past 300 posts have taught me, this is the one that has come to my mind the most lately:

It takes a lot to keep on blogging.

Motivation, time, and ideas. I know, some bloggers just blog about daily life, inspirations, and what not. But it can take so much more effort if daily life is not going too happy or if you are just not on the way you imagined you would be.

In the past 3 months I’ve found it even harder to sit down, concentrate, and write a post. Not that the weather had much to do with it. After all, summer did end a while ago. But I couldn’t bring myself to spend some precious time on a hobby and passion I’ve pursued for so long because I felt guilty. Guilty with wasting my time in front of a computer, not looking for a job, or not spending it with friends and the few people I have let into my life here in New York.

It’s been a bit of a rocky road this year and as I can tell by my monthly post count, my blogging has certainly suffered a bit. Times change, circumstances change, and people change. I believe all of this has happened to me over the course of the past 6 months. Now be that a good or a bad thing or simply a thing – I’m leaving that open for discussion. However, it has shifted my attention into a different direction. While I still love writing and perhaps always will, I also love to do other things. I love to photograph, I love to travel, I love to explore new places. And sometimes liking way too many things can lead you to a passway where you have to carefully assemble your time and set your priorities straight.

So blogging hasn’t really been my main priority and my main occupation lately. But I don’t think it makes me less of a blogger than I was before. I have never felt so comfortable in writing and submitting my ideas via the world wide web than in the past year. Practice does make you a master. And seeing how my grammar, my spelling, and my style has improved is certainly a great motivation to keep on going.

After 300 posts of blogging, I feel no end is near but no consistency is close, either. Blogging is something that will just happen – the way it did before. And it’s great to share it with you all.

Here is to the next 300 posts and counting!

9 thoughts on “300 Posts: A Blogger’s Journey Towards It

  1. Congratulations on 300 posts! What a great number 🙂

    This was a great post, Laura, I’ve always enjoyed your writing very much and I am glad you aren’t going to stop. I have to agree with you about having a hard time figuring out what to write about. You always do have a great topic though and you should pat yourself on the back! What is your photo blog address? I’d like to follow you there as well!
    Did you treat yourself to those new shoes? I hope you did!

    • Well, what seems like a good topic to some does not seem like a good topic to others. But I really feel flattered now and will do my best in uncovering many more topics!
      My photo blog can be found here: http://photographmyworld.wordpress.com/ Sure, feel free to check it out! It’s more about pictures than writing.

      Ugh, unfortunately no new shoes for me yet. I couldn’t decide on which color to get so I decided not to get them after all. Maybe later-on – with a more stable income. 😉

      • Well, that was probably a good call. Spending money on something you don’t absolutely love is never a good idea! I’m going to check out your other blog right now!

  2. Congrats! Your blog posts could take down Xerxes and the entire Persian military. Well, you’d eventually lose. But you’d match-up well.

    Keep up the good work. Remember it’s quality over quantity and you should do it for yourself and nobody else.

    • I never though of my blog posts being so powerful! Thanks for your feedback.
      I agree – quality over quantity. But it sounds better coming from you, an appreciative reader! 🙂

  3. Congrats on 300!!

    You know, I think that blogging has been serving a purpose to help you discover and uncover exactly what your passions right now in life are. And from the perspective of a long time reader on the outside, I see that you have gravitated and improved your photography skills. So, blogging has been a catalyst for you. It has been a stepping stone and part of that journey, which I think is amazing. We can’t all do everything all the time. And while blogging in Sweden focused me on my absolute love and obsession with blogging and writing, it has taught you and clarified for you that desire for photography. Or, at least that’s what this girl sees. 🙂

    In any case, thank you for sharing your journey, your words, your photos with us on the web! As always, I will be here reading! xx

    • Thanks Liz! Yes, blogging has certainly pushed me more towards photography. Isn’t it great to discover almost the entire world out there in just a few clicks? That’s the feeling I get when I see other people’s pictures online.

      As for now, I enjoy both writing and snapping pics. But I have focused more of my time and energy on photog and it has involved almost into a necessity. As long as I can keep both going, I will. We will see how it goes.

      Yes, you certainly have an obsession going on and it has paid off wonderfully now – in the beginning of your journalism journey.

Leave a Reply

