4th of July: Rice Krispies Treats with Peanut Butter

rice-krispies-treats

Tomorrow is Independence Day, meaning one of America’s biggest holidays of the year has finally come around. While I did most of my pre-holiday-shopping today, I couldn’t help but notice that almost every store in NY will be open until the late afternoon hours of 4th of July. Now I surely don’t remember how things were last year and before that, but I somehow must have forgotten the fact that shops do not close, even on the second-most-significant day of the year. Sure enough, Macy’s will always be known for its insane shopping discounts on named day (and of course today, too, in case you want to step into the masses of bargain hunters). But even food stores and other local delis will remain in business until the very last minute, or so it seems.

My plans for tomorrow are not yet well thought out. Part of this is due to the crappy weather we’ve been enduring lately. This must have been one of the wettest summers I’ve experienced by far. Every day we’ve had some sort of thunderstorm or summer rain and it has been increasingly difficult to decide on what shoes to wear (rainboots or flip flops) and to make plans for the beach. Hopefully, tomorrow the weather will hold up. In case the sun shines, you will find me at the beach with a bottle of bubbly. Not at Coney Island. I made the mistake of going there last year and ended up being almost suffocated in the masses surrounding the annual Hotdog Contest hosted by Nathan’s. No, I will chillax on the sands of Far Rockaway and hopefully it will be not as crowded with people as it was two years ago…

In preparation of tomorrow’s festivities, I felt like trying out something new and made a traditional American dessert: Rice Krispies Treats! It reminded me of some old childhood days and the fun we had when devouring this. To spice it up, I tried a peanut butter and chocolate version. For the peanut butter version you will need:

rice-krispy-treats-ingredients

– 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
– 1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows

– OR –

– 4 cups miniature marshmallows
– 1/2 cup peanut butter
– 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal ( I took the ones from TJoes)

First melt the butter on a low-heated-stove and then mix the marshmallows into it. When everything is melted properly, remove pan from stove and add peanut butter. After the peanut butter has melted, just throw in the Rice Krispies and voila, here you go!

rice-krispy-treats-ingredients2

peanut-butter-rice-krispy-treats

4th-of-July-rice-krispy-treats

(Find the original recipe on the Rice Krispies homepage)

My original plan was to have whole chocolate chips but they melted as soon as they were mixed with the rest of the ingredients. Change of plan, I guess. Also, half of my treats just crumbled away, perhaps I didn’t add enough marshmallows. For my first attempt in making these (easy) bites, I think it went well. I also added a glass of white wine because I felt like it.

bubbly-wine

I hope you have a great 4th of July. What are your plans?

3 thoughts on “4th of July: Rice Krispies Treats with Peanut Butter

  1. Those look yummy! Your pictures that go with the recipe are great too. My favorite thing to do with Rice Krispies is a twist off a recipe I found in George Duran’s Take This Dish and Twist It. It’s basically the regular Rice Krispy Treat recipe, but you add coffee or expresso powder to the mix. I don’t care for those, so I tweaked it to use cappuccino powder. They’re awesome and I don’t think I can ever eat a plain Rice Krispy treat again lol. I actually planned on eventually posting about it next time I make them (might need to do that soon because now I want some).

    As for 4th of July, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. There’s a free Korn concert up in Wiesbaden but I don’t know if I feel like traveling that far. There’s also a fireworks show in Ramstein and I could take a free shuttle there, but I’m sure it’ll be super crowded. So we’ll see. Have a happy 4th!

    • OH GOSH! That recipe sounds AMAZING! I wish you had told me about it earlier!!! Darn it! I will have to try those out next time. I know, my friend made them the other day and I saw her post online so I had a craving for them, too. Luckily they are super-easy to make and it only took 10 minutes (plus cooling off etc).
      Well, Korn is nice but Wiesbaden can be quite a hike. I bet you’ll have fun wherever you go. Are you guys still in Heidelberg or did you move already?? they have the macy’s fireworks here in NY but those are on the NJ side of the river so I don’t think I’ll be able to see them from Brooklyn. and travelling into Manhattan is just overly crazy, especially with all those tourists blocking everything.

      • Haha I would have if I knew you were planning to make Rice Krispy Treats. That’s funny you made them after seeing a post on them. It’s catching! I have the next couple days of posts planned already (I feel like a real blogger), but I do have another treat recipe I can post soon…Buckeyes. Idk if you have ever heard of them. In reality, they’re poisonous nuts, but people from Ohio make a candy version that’s peanut butter balls inside of chocolate. They’re AWESOME.

        Yeah it’s a little over an hour, whereas Ramstein’s like 15 minutes. We already moved up to K-town. I like Heidelberg better as a city, but our apartment here is a lot better. Yeah I think your plan will be nicer. I want to go to the Rhine in Flames thing Saturday in Rüdesheim but my husband might need the car for something so if I don’t get to go I’m going to try to go in August in Koblenz.

Leave a Reply

