A Different Approach to Writing: Slowblogging and Snowballblogging

slow blogging picture

What is better: Daily blurbs resembling tantrums or a few well-written posts a month? Yes, a MONTH! Have you ever heard about this? Me neither. But recently I have come across a few blogs who highlight the importance of slow blogging. Slowblogging has evolved from the complete opposite of what most people understand under blogging nowadays. No diary entries, no excessive writing, no daily or even weekly updates.

No, slow blogging emphasizes how quality can exceed quantity when it comes to writing and maintaining readership. It involves rethinking your thoughts twice before submitting them through your online page. It involves letting your works sit for a while until the final proofreading and polishing. It also involves being absent from your blog for some time longer in order to come up with those high-quality posts.

Nowadays, I follow both slow bloggers and snowball bloggers. The latter name I came up with because the word rhymes with “slow” and because the snowball principle relies on throwing one ball after another. Just like some writers, who throw their thoughts out there and expect a return in some form, be it comments, likes, or new followers. I do have quite a few blogger friends who use the WordPress platform as their personal diary and update their fellow readers on their progress, life, and ramblings almost every day (if not even more than once a day). No judgment intended but sometimes I think that a well-composed post can exceed the quality of 3 hastily spat-out write-ups, even if it takes 5 times as long to come up with.

It is also being said that blogs who use the slow blogging principle exceed the lifespan of other blogs and are not like “dead corpses” swirling around the world wide web after being abandoned because of frustration and time constraints. This slower pace of blogging certainly has its advantages, as writers can blog in longer intervals and feel free to go about their daily activities without feeling the angst of having to come up with a new post for the evening.

As you all have surely noticed, my blog has come to a short standstill in the past few weeks with only sporadic blog posts and a few updates here and there. The reason for this is quite simple: Feelings of an overwhelmed state of life in addition to excessive planning of too many projects at hand have basically kept me shorthanded in not only writing but many other hobbies I had been enjoying up until recently. It is almost the end of February, we are a good two months into the new and still promising year but it somehow still feels like I am treading air. Procrastination, fear of non-progression, and an overwhelming desire to start new is no good mix to contribute to a blog that is meticulously giving the appearance it only wants to update on New York things. And this at a time where I’ve had almost zero time to enjoy New York.

To therefore justify my complete lack of time and energy in blogging, I wanted to put some focus on slow blogging, which is by far one of the most interesting concepts I have come across throughout this week. Some blogs on this topic have also explained the mysterious rise of stats I’ve witnessed over the past months while my quantity of blog posts certainly have not exceeded the usual number. I guess after almost 245 posts, people continue to randomly find me, and if it’s just to know how to pronounce “Neuenheim” or to determine if “foot fetish really does exist on craigslist”… (For my post on analyzing google search terms, please go here. You’ll enjoy it, I promise!). But it might also be that whenever I post, I post a lot of words, and I include my personal opinion and lots of other information. I’d like to say I post on topics that have been well-researched, instead, but that’s not entirely true, so I bend myself towards the illusion that slow blogging could be a new approach for me and perhaps other readers.

Enough of these ramblings. I guess what I am really just trying to do is justify my lack of blogging lately by finding the hidden niche: Quality exceeds quantity and slow-blogging is the new thing. Just like bright colors will be back in fashion this summer, slow blogging is up and in the rising (as it was 7 years ago) and I am on my best way to follow this trend. Until then I will finish up other projects and devote my time to complete my painful 250th blog post….

[To read another great post on slow blogging, visit Anne R. Allen’s Blog and her entry The Slow Blog Manifesto…and 8 Reasons Why Slow Blogging Will Help Your Career, Your Love Life, and Protect You From Angry Elephants]

9 thoughts on “A Different Approach to Writing: Slowblogging and Snowballblogging

  1. Hi, Laura!
    I do agree: less IS more. I have been blogging now for more than 4 years on self-hosted sites, sometimes up to 4 blogs in parallel – and gave it all up end of January and moved to WP.com with one tiny blog. And I decided not to import all my old stuff, like I see so many others do now. NO, start over again, correcting a lot of things that had increasingly bothered me up to then. I consider my new blog now a visitor’s card. Others can check me out and decide if they want ot talk to me. But the real bonus here is the reader and tag search function that allows me to find OTHERS, see what they do, like and work on. No more heavy baggage like archives, SEO hankering, publishing pressure, repairing hacking attacks. As an artist and amateur photographer I can’t help, of course, to let a few things out once in a while 😉

    I actually am a German-American living in Hamburg now, and the most important decision for my new blog was to activate the English language for it. As long as the German default was active, I hardly saw anything on my reader that interested me. But for me travelling cyberspace is light and fun again …

    • I totally agree with you in that there is an added bonus with WordPress. The connection to other bloggers seems so easy – I haven’t seen this on other blog platforms, at least not in this way.
      I have no idea how you got 4 blogs rolling but I am having troubles with my 2 already. glad you switched and thanks for the comments and following!

      • well, I think those 4 blogs of mine were actually less work than what you have done here (as far as I can tell now). I had switched off commenting completely, for instance, since it was a much used inroad for hack-attacks, something I don’t have to worry about here on WP. if you stand on your molehill and shout into the void – that’s no comparison to high life at a party 😉

      • Good to know that wordpress has the spam/hackers somewhat under control. And yes, I agree with your comment on not reaching a high readership elsewhere… 🙂

  2. Well I am definitely a slow blogger. Even when I try to do a few posts a week to catch up to current, I fall behind again. I don’t know exactly when I last posted but it was before this semester started (so you see why I’m at a standstill). Good to know there are benefits lol. When I do poke in, I still see that the blog gets about 50 or more hits a day even when I haven’t been posting so I don’t think it’s hurting anything.

    • I feel that sometimes fast bloggers switch over to slow bloggers. I certainly have cut it down to half the posts I used to write. Sometimes I still feel bad but life is calling.

      I noticed the same thing about the stats you have when I was absent from the blogosphere for a while.
      I would also be intensely busy if I were to go to grad school and have to blog so Kudos for your sticking it out and the occasional post!!

Leave a Reply

